Masculine Get Well Card

Hello Everyone,

The card I am showing you today is one I made to send to a twenty-something guy who had been in the hospital.  I used my color coach to get me started on my color combination.  I like using the color coach to give me a quick set of colors to pull together when I need a quick start to a project.  I was looking for something that would give me a masculine feel.  I ended up using Old Olive, Riding Hood Red, and Night of Navy.  I at least think these are the colors I used.  I could have used Midnight Muse as the blue.  I am working off of a picture and can’t remember which color I used for sure.  I needed the card and had to make one to fit the occasion.  Several color combinations would work depending on what you or the person you are sending it to might enjoy.  I keep telling myself I am going to make better notes but time seems to get away from me or I get interupted and end up sending the card before I get my notes made.  I also felt like the buttons mounted on the Riding Hood Red card stock pennant strip kept the card masculine rather than adding ribbon.

I have really liked adding this trend of the pennant strip.  It became really easy to do once I learned the trick of using the corner of a square punch to get the pennant look on the end of the strip.  It was a simple trick but one I had not thought of myself.  That is what I love about looking at other people’s blogs is picking up those tricks.  If I don’t think to share those tricks and you wonder how I did something please ask because I don’t always think to explain everything.  I also used baker’s twine in the buttons.  I was told never to leave a button naked.  It helps to finish the card.  I would agree with that advice.  I love the baker’s twine to finish my buttons.  I added some texture to the card using embossing folders and the different layers.  The sentiment I used is from the Word Play stamp set which is also available for a limited time as single stamps.

2012-10-28_20-54-36_550

Here is my supply list for this project.  All items listed are from Stampin’ Up and include their item numbers.

Stamp Set: Word Play Stamp Set Wood #120308 — Clear #120651 or Single Stamp Word Play: Sick Clear-Mount Stamp #132294 (Only available as single stamp until January 2, 2013.)

Ink:  Midnight Muse Classic Stampin’ Pad #126869 or Night of Navy Classic Stampin Pad #126970

Card Stock:  Old Olive #100702, Night of Navy #100867 or Midnight Muse #126843, Riding Hood Red #111348 and Regals Color Collection Designer Series Paper Stacks #117154

Tools/Accessories:   Designer Frames Folders #123130, Perfect Polka Dots Folder #117335, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine #113439, 1″ Square Punch #124094, SNAIL Adhesive #104332, Glue Dots #103683, Anywhere Glue Sticks #104045, Brights Designer Buttons #119747, Whisper White Baker’s Twine #124262 and 3/16″ Corner #119871

I hope you enjoyed seeing this masculine get well card.  I made this card for a twenty-something and I think it came out on the trendy side as well as being masculine.

Jenny

Click here to order Stampin’ Up Products on-line 24/7

Over 300 new Clearance Rack items are being added to the Online Store at discounts up to 80 percent off retail-only while supplies last! And for the first time ever, stamps are included at up to 40% off.
Leave a Reply

