Lovely as a Tree Sympathy Card

Today’s card is one we all wish we didn’t need to make but unfortunately we all need to have sympathy cards.  I needed to make a card that would work for couples.  I just pulled some paper from my retired folders that looked soothing together.  I don’t have a sympathy stamp set(it is on my wish list but I always find myself buying other sets) so I always seem to have to pull something together.

I started by embossing my card using the perfect polka dot embossing folder and the big shot.  Then I needed a stamp set and I picked the Lovely as a Tree set.  I am really beginning to like the Lovely as a Tree stamp set I inherited from my Grandma’s house.  It is becoming a very versatile stamp set for me.  I simply stamped the image in a slightly darker green on to my light green card stock.  I added the dark green behind everything to give the card an anchor and to hide the ends of the trim and the back side of the brad.  I used the Easy Events Stamp Set for the sentiment.  I used tape to mask the part of the stamp I didn’t want while inking the stamp and then just removed the tape before stamping.  I think the “sending you love” on the front ties in with the words on the inside of the card.  I added the tiny butterfly from the Beautiful Wings Embosslits just to finish the look with a pop of color and elegance with the tiny pearl jewel in the center.  I just pulled the butterfly out of my stash of saved butterflies as I always seem to have some leftover from other projects.

image

image

I wanted to make sure that the people receiving these cards know they are getting something special in the mail the moment they get the mail out of the mail box. I added stamping to the front of the envelope and embossed on the flap in the back.

image

I hope this sympathy card has inspired you to make some of your own because if anyone needs or deserves a handmade card it is when they have suffered the loss of a loved one. See you tomorrow.

Jenny

Leave a Reply

