Happy Birthday Flower Card

What a great day, it started with worship,then an afternoon visiting my Grandma and ended with making a card with my daughter.  I needed a quick birthday card for one of my sister’s colleagues at work and had seen a design similar to this in a back issue of Stampin’ Success.  I also wanted to try making a flower using the crumpling method.  This card was super easy to make and yet anyone that receives it will feel like a million bucks.

My colors for this are Chocolate Chip, Daffodil Delight, and Whisper White.  I started by punching 3 flowers using a flower punch.  I then spritzed each flower with water before attaching all 3 flowers together with the brad in the middle.  I then crumpled and formed my flower once I was happy with the flower I set it aside to dry.  I used the petals-a-plenty embossing folder and embossed the chocolate chip card stock.  I then cut the Daffodil Delight and used the scallop trim border punch on each side.  I then layered a piece of chocolate chip and then a piece of Daffodil Delight DSP from the Brights Stack.  The ribbon is the the Gumball Green Stitched Satin Ribbon you can get free with a $40 order in September.  I used my scallop oval punch and my small oval punch for the happy birthday which is from the create a cupcake stamp set.  Attack the flower once it is dry and the card is finished.
image
I did go ahead and add some more whisper white trimmed with the scallop trim border punch to the inside.  I stamped another phrase from the create a cupcake stamp set inside along with a cupcake to match the sentiment. Once I had the cupcake top stamped in the Calypso Coral, I re-stamped the top in Versa Mark ink and added the vanilla scented heat embossing powder. This made the top of the cupcake shinny and it smells like a real cupcake. The final touch is the string of pearls on the cupcake. This card is beautiful on the outside and has a fun surprise on the inside.
image
This is not a card that you can mail but hand delivered along with a cake at work the design works.  If you need to mail it a non crumpled flower with just the brad in the center would still be a beautiful card (I am feeling a followup post already.)

I hope you enjoyed this crumpled flower card.  See you tomorrow.

Jenny

Leave a Reply

