Less is More Brown and Pink Challenge Entry

Sorry this post is so late in being posted.  I had the card made and was going to write the post last night once the kids were in bed but as I was working in the kitchen getting ready to make some Strawberry Shortcake and I ended up running the middle of my forehead into the corner of a cupboard door.  I can actually say I think I really saw stars.  According to my husband, I even bent the hinges on the cupboard door.  I am not sure I believe him he is prone to exaggeration but needless to say I hit the door with a lot of force. So last night instead of writing this post I spent a couple of  hours at urgent care getting some very fancy pictures of the inside of my head.  The verdict is just a concussion but some very strong warnings from the Doctor to take it easy today, so I am at home writing this while my Mom is taking the kids to school.  If it gets really pretty with lots of different colors I may post pictures right now it is really just a crease in the middle of my head.  OK now onto the important stuff today’s card.

I am doing a first for me.  I am entering a challenge on a website.  “Less is More” is a challenge blog site and they have a challenge every week.  I am entering their Brown and Pink Week 83 Colour Challenge (this site is out of England so they use the British spelling of color it is not just that we can’t spell).  I am nervous and excited to enter.  Their minimal style is different from my normal style but I thought it would be good for me to expand outside my comfort zone and I am competitive enough that the idea of a challenge appeals to me as well.  I am also hoping to get some feedback on my design and card.  I enjoy designing but I want to expand my talents and get better and the only way to do that is to hear others opinions about your work.

I choose to make a card for a baby gift.  The colors pink and brown remind me of the cute outfits my daughter would wear as a baby.  I used Pink Pirouette as the card base.  Soft Suede cut into half a top not using my Big Shot and the Top Note die.  I then used the “for baby” stamp from the Easy Events Stamp Set stamped in Soft Suede on Whisper White.  I colored in the outline stamp using my Stampin’ Write Markers.  I love my markers.  If I had to choose between an ink pad and a marker I would choose a marker.  The markers are so versatile.  The umbrella and hat on the duck again repeat the pink and brown theme.  I finished the card with a simple Whisper White satin ribbon.

Here is my supply list for this project.  All items listed are from Stampin’ Up and include their item numbers.

Stamp Set: Easy Events Wood #116958 — Clear #123225 (This is my Stamp of the Month Club Stamp Set for September.)

Ink: Soft Suede Classic Stampin’ Pad #126978, Soft Suede Stampin’ Write Marker #119703 (this number is for the Neutrals pack of 8 markers), So Saffron Stampin’ Write Markers #119700 (this number is for the Subtles pack of 10 markers), Pink Pirouette Stampin Write Markers #119700 (this number is for the Subtles pack of 10 markers), Marina Mist Stampin’ Write Markers #119679, Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ Write Markers #105115

Card Stock:  Pink Pirouette #111351,Soft Suede #115318, Whisper White #100730

Tools/Accessories: Top Note Bigz Die#115463, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine #113439, Sticky Strip #104294, Glue Dots #103683, SNAIL Adhesive #104332, Stampin Dimensionals #104430, Anywhere Glue stick #104045, 5/8″ Organza Ribbon Whisper White # 114319 (I used 5/8″ Satin Ribbon in Whisper White which is now retired but the Organza Ribbon would give you the same look.), Corner Rounder Punch #119871

I hope you enjoyed seeing  this Pink and Brown Baby Card and my first Less is More Challenge Entry.  See you again tomorrow.

Jenny

Click here to order Stampin’ Up Products on-line 24/7

While the kids are heading back to school, Stampin’ Up! is going back to ‘spool’! For the month of September, get a FREE package of 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon-an $8.95 value-for every $40 you spend!  If you can’t choose you can get all 5 with a $200 purchase.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Jenny and welcome to “Less is More”. I am delighted that you decided to choose our challenge for your first foray into the world of challenges!
    Your design fits into the Clean and Simple genre very well, although I was a little surprised to see the blue and yellow on your card as well as the brown and pink. Submissions for our colour challenges generally tend to stick to the set colour/colours with the occasional addition of a neutral shade. However you have the designated colours so that is perfectly fine.
    We encourage participants to visit other other entrants to our challenges and leave a friendly word, that way you get to know other crafters and pick up tips and ideas.
    I really hope we’ll see you again next time.
    Thanks so much
    Chrissie
    “Less is More”

  2. Sweet card
    Warm welcome from me too
    Thank you
    mandi
    “Less is More”

Leave a Reply

