Summer Afternoon Birthday Card

Today’s post is one that I was inspired to create from another blog post.  I find that I need some sort of inspiration to get the creative juices flowing.  The blog with the inspiration is Me, My Stamps and I and she actually CASEed the card from another blog Yvette’s Paper Garden.  I am including these links because even though these sites served as an inspiration the cards are different and have their own character and the character of the designer.  I can usually tell which cards were created by certain people because we all develop our own style. I created this card last night with the help of Lainy.  We had lots of fun stamping for the first time in my new craft area just her and I.  We spent most of the night sitting next to each other on an old organ bench that had come out of my Grandma’s house.  We looked at the inspiration design and got out a piece of paper to sketch on as we looked at what we had to recreate the design.  We didn’t have a current stamp set with the long stemmed flowers so we picked out a stamp from the Summer Afternoon Hostess stamp set that Lainy liked because of the dog.  We pulled out our embossing folder since we didn’t have one with flowers we used the Perfect Polka Dot Embossing folder.  We choose Primrose Petals for our pink layers and Soft Suede for the brown layer and used Very Vanilla for the card itself and to stamp on.  We did use the same crochet trim Victoria.  The small brads are the Silver brads 1/8″.  The brad holding the Happy Birthday is from the Antique Brads set.  This card really was a work in progress as we added each element we played with it until we liked the card.  I had been wanting to use the pennant shape on a card as well and I am really excited about how nice it looks on this card.  This was a great project to create after not stamping since June and I am so glad that I got to share the time with Lainy.

In keeping with yesterday’s theme of before and after embellishments I took a picture of this card as well before I added the brads and crochet trim.  It is a nice card in its own rights but I like the second one better.  I am going to try and recreate this card and make it more masculine and that card may not have as many embellishments we will see.  

Here is the finished card. I would love to hear back from you about what you think.  I forgot to mention earlier that I used Stampin’ Write Markers to color in the flowers and other greenery on the wagon to add more color.  I was making this card to send to a friend who lovers flowers and plants so I wanted to highlight that part of the stamp for her.  I enjoyed coloring the flowers and am really pleased with how they turned out.  I have not done this much on my cards but I like the ability to personalize images like this.  It also can really change the look of an image.

Here is my supply list for this project.  I am listing everything only for the second card shown.  All items listed are from Stampin’ Up and include their item numbers.

Stamp Set: Summer Afternoon Hostess Set Wood #126425 — Clear #126427 (Hostess sets are only available if you host a workshop or place a qualifying online order.  Contact me about hosting a workshop.)

Ink:  Soft Suede Classic Stampin’ Pad #126978, So Safron Stampin’ Write Marker#119700 (This is for the set that includes all 10 Subtles Collection colors the So Saffron marker is not sold separately), Certainly Celery Stampin’ Write Marker #105106, Garden Green Stampin’ Write Marker #119701 (This is for the set that includes all 10 Regals Collection colors the Garden Green marker is not sold separately), Certainly Celery Stampin Write Marker #105106, and Wisteria Wonder Stampin’ Write Markers #122973 (This is for the set that includes all 5 2011-2012 In Colors colors the Wisteria Wonder marker is not sold separately).

Card Stock:  Very Vanilla #101650, Primrose Petals #126841, Soft Suede #115318

Tools/Accessories: Antique Brads #117273, Silver Brads #122941, Crochet Trim Victoria #118481, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder #117335, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine #113439, Corner Rounder Punch #119871 , SNAIL Adhesive #104332, Sticky Strip #104294

I hope you enjoyed seeing how you can be inspired by someone else’s creation and still create something that truly reflects your own personality and style.  See you again tomorrow.

Jenny

Click here to order Stampin’ Up Products on-line 24/7

While the kids are heading back to school, Stampin’ Up! is going back to ‘spool’! For the month of September, get a FREE package of 3/8″ Stitched Satin Ribbon-an $8.95 value-for every $40 you spend!  If you can’t choose you can get all 5 with a $200 purchase.

Leave a Reply

