Before and After Embellishments

I said yesterday I would do a before and after post showing how embellishments can improve a card and here it is.  The first card is one that my daughter, Lainy and I created together for her to use as her thank you notes after her birthday party.  They were a great card for an eight year old to make and send to her friends.   She was thrilled with the card and excited that she got to help design a card with mommy.  We used the Big Shot Die cutting machine with the Paper Dolly Sizzlits L die  that debuted in the spring mini catalog and is now in the current annual catalog.  We also used the 2 3/8″ scallop circle punch and the 2 1/2″ circle punch.  The card stock is a combination of current and retired colors as this was a project that I could use some of my retired stock on.  The stamp set we used is Easy Events which is in the current annual catalog and is the featured stamp set for my stamp set of the month club for September.  Lainy liked this stamp because she used my Stampin Write Markers to color the flowers in on each card.  This card really is easy to create.  The toughest part of this card is getting all the little pieces of the doily punched out.  I use a set of very pointy tweezers to get the pieces out of the punch-out and out of the die.  I love this doily and feel it is worth the time for the look you get with the doily.  Lainy helped with each step and many of them she did herself while I worked on other cards.  We finished the look off by using Stampin’ dimensional to pop up the scalloped circle.

The second card is one I created for a workshop I did at the beginning of June.  The hostess was wanting to learn how to create classy cards without them looking over done.  She had a tendency to over do her cards so I created three projects that focused on being simple but complete.  This is one of those projects.  I used the exact same supplies as the first card but I also used the 1/4″ stitched Grosgrain Ribbon, two pearls from the Pearl Basic Jewels, and a butterfly from the Beautiful Wings Embosslits die.  I added the ribbon across the top of the card both inside and out.  It is threaded through a slit I cut into the side fold.  I could then  hide my ends beneath the butterfly.  I don’t like seeing the cut ends of ribbon unless it is on a bow.  The two pearls finish off the butterfly.  The picture doesn’t show them as pearls but that is what they are they are not silver ( I am working on my photography skills).

Here is my supply list for this project.  I am listing everything only for the second card shown.  All items listed are from Stampin’ Up and include their item numbers.

Stamp Set: Easy Events Wood #116958 — Clear #123225 (This is the Stamp of the Month Club stamp set for September)

Ink: Gumball Green Stampin’ Write Marker#126856 (This is for the set that includes all 5 2012 – 2014 In Color colors the Gumball green marker is not sold separately), Pumpkin Pie Stampin’ Write Marker #105115

Card Stock:  Gumball Green #126840, Lucky Limeade #122926, Daffodil Delight #119683, Pumpkin Pie #105117

Tools/Accessories:  Beautiful Wings Embosslits #118138, Paper Doily Sizzlits L Die #125592, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine#113439, Pearl Basic Jewels #119247, SNAIL Adhesive #104332, Glue Dots #103683, Sticky Strip #104294, 2 3/8′ Scallop Circle Punch #118874. 2 1/2″ Circle Punch #120906, 1/4″ Stitched Grosgrain Ribbon Daffodil Delight #126872,

I hope you enjoyed seeing the difference between these two cards.  See you again tomorrow.

Jenny

Click here to order Stampin’ Up Products on-line 24/7

Leave a Reply

