Your in My thoughts Card

This is a card that I made for our Relay for Life Team on site fundraiser back in June. I was going for cards that would appeal to the people attending an event like that.  I used a background stamp and stamped tone on tone and then used Designer series paper with a similar pattern as the background stamp.  The Whisper White Card stock is edged using the Stampin’ Up’s Scallop Trim Border punch.  The sentiment is from Stampin’ Up’s Word Play Stamp Set.  I love that set.  It has so many great phrase for all occasions.  I used another stamp from this set for my Graduation Cards this year as well.  I don’t think I took any pictures of any of them :(.   The butterflies are from Stampin’ Up’s Beautiful Wings Embosslits which is used with Stampin’ Up’s Big Shot Die Cutting Machine.  I don’t think I make many cards without something on them that I used the Big Shot for.  I finished the butterflies with Stampin’ Up’s Pearl Basic Jewels.  I have been working on adding embellishments to my cards and I am amazed at the difference that something so small as the pearls can make to the overall look of a card.  I will have to post some before and after pictures with and without the embellishments on a post in the near future.  The colors used in this card are all from Stampin’ Up! and include Elegant Eggplant, Perfect Plum, Pretty in Pink and Whisper White.

image

I like to finish the inside of my card as well as the outside of my card. I don’t like to have ribbon end anywhere so I wrapped the ribbon all the way around and hid the ends under the layers on the front. This gives the inside of the card a more finished look. I also like to add an insert to write on when I use such a dark card base. I inserted a whisper white piece on the inside that I used the Scallop Trim Corner punch on the corners to give it a more elegant finished look. I also had to add a little something on the inside and stamped the butterfly using the butterfly stamp from the hostess stamp set Four Seasons. I used my Stampin’ Write Markers to create the two tone stamped image from a single stamp.

image

Here is my supply list for this project.  All items listed are from Stampin’ Up and include their item numbers.

Stamp Set: Word Play Wood #120308 — Clear # 120651  to get the background stamp look you could use Parlor Prints Wood #122525 (I used a background stamp that I got from my Grandma when I cleaned out her house.  Sorry that one is not in the current catalog)  Four Seasons Hostess Stamp Set Wood # 126830 — Clear #126832 (Hostess sets are only available if you host a workshop or place a qualifying online order.  Contact me about hosting a workshop.)

Ink: Elegant Eggplant #126969, Stampin’ Write Marker Pretty in Pink #100045, Stampin’ Write Markers Perfect Plum  from the Subtles Collection #119700 (The perfect plum marker is not sold individually so I listed the set of 10 from the subtles collect which would include both markers).

Card Stock: Pretty in Pink #100459, Elegant Eggplant #105126, Designer Series Paper Stacks Regals #117154, and Whisper White #100730

Tools/Accessories:  Beautiful Wings Embosslits #118138, Big Shot Die-Cutting Machine#113439, Pearl Basic Jewels #119247, SNAIL Adhesive #104332, Glue Dots #103683, Sticky Strip #104294, Scallop Trim Border Punch #118402, 5/8″ Organza Ribbon Whisper White # 114319 (I used 5/8″ Satin Ribbon in Whisper White which is now retired but the Organza Ribbon would give you the same look and I think would be even more elegant.)

I hope you enjoyed this card.  See you again tomorrow.

Jenny

Click here to order Stampin’ Up Products on-line 24/7

Leave a Reply

