Where did summer go?

I can’t believe the summer is almost over.  It was meet your teacher day at my kid’s school which means summer is gone at our house.  I have mixed emotions about this summer being over.  This was going to be my summer of fun as it was the first summer I wasn’t working and home with the kids.  I can honestly say I worked harder this summer than I ever did working outside the home.  I am not referring to all the normal stuff that we as moms take care of on a daily basis.  This summer we decided that the inside of our house needed a serious face lift and we painted two bedrooms, the living room, and dining room as well as adding crown molding in the living rooms and dining room.  We also did some major rearranging of furniture in the entire house.  This required a lot of reorganizing and a lot of purging which we are still not finished with.  image
This is my daughter’s room which she shares with my mom. It was a drab nondescript tan color before. This green is much more soothing and we added the shelves around the top of the room.  We forgot to take any before pictures so you can’t understand the total transformation.  We still have to finish the curtains but that is a project once school is back in session.  I also have some Disney Snow White pictures that I am going to frame and put up over her dresser to finish this wall.
image

image

These two are in the living room area.  We painted the walls two colors.  We have the rich green color and then the tan color that we call mushroom.  My sister gave it that name as she said it looks like the color of mushrooms.  The funny part of that is she hates mushrooms so now she has to live with them on the walls.  This is a real transformation for us as we have never really had color on the walls of anything other than a bedroom and never anything near this dark but we all love the colors.  We are also excited the hanging lamp in the top picture was painted by my Grandmother back when I was a kid and had been packed away for a long time since it didn’t go with our old decorating but we are glad to have it back out.

image

This is my son’s room.  His room was the nursery and had a very light mint green color on the walls with stamped stars, moons, and plants in red, blue, and yellow.  He is my cowboy and wanted a cowboy room.  We did the walls in blue and then my mom made the curtains from material she already had.  I had already used the same material to make a bulletin board for him prior to our redecoration.  The curtains split in the center and the edges button on the side to give a great triangle-shaped opening to let in the light.  When down the really darken the room and keep the cold out as mom put a pre-quilted navy material on the back.  The room darkening will be great during daylight savings time and early school night bedtime.    He loves his bedroom which is what matters.

All of this redecorating got in the way of me doing much stamping this summer.  I am having major withdrawal.  I just have one project left to finish on the house and I will be already to start creating and crafting and stamping again.  My last project is to move all my stamping stuff out of my bedroom and downstairs to the basement.  The kids are now going to have to share their playroom with me and my stamping stuff.  This means that I will be able to work without getting everything out every time and taking over the dining room table.  I will post pictures once everything is all moved.  I have also made a promise to myself and now to the world since I am saying it here.  I am going to post something new on my blog everyday in September.  I have always been told it takes 21 days to make a habit so I am going to go a few extra and post for 30 days in September.  This should get me off to a good start.  I am going to start by sharing some of the projects I did do at the beginning of June but never got around to posting and then I will be sharing some holiday themed projects as well as some of the projects I have planned around getting my new stamping area organized and pretty.  I am also going to be sharing some new things related to my Stampin’ Up business and some opportunities for others to get to stamping with me.  See you in September.

Leave a Reply

