My Story

      Wow!  Here I am again a new demonstrator amazed at all the changes life has handed me since I signed up the first time 3 years ago.  Last time I signed up because I needed a hobby and something to help me balance my life between my family, work, and me as an individual.  Unfortnately, the job won and there wasn’t room for it, my family and Stampin Up.
So what changed that I have room for Stampin Up again you may wonder?  A lot for starters, I was laid off from my job at the end of September.  This wasn’t just any job.  This was my dream job.  The job my two degrees and a life time of experience had uniquely qualified me for or so I had thought.  I was the victim of governmental budget cuts and all the overtime, blood, sweat, and tears meant nothing budgets had to balance and that meant positions had to be eliminated and mine was one of the ones that got cut.  Here is the kicker, I found out that I would be unemployeed in 4 months on my 9 year wedding anniversary.  Yeah, you read that right I had 4 months to keep working 60 hour weeks knowing I would not have a job at the end of those months.  As if that wasn’t enough to handle in one summer, I also had to have hip surgery and my husband had to have shoulder surgery.
Thank God he is a faithful and loving God who is there to carry us through valleys.  I was given what I believe to be the greatest gift I could have been given.  I went from being a full time 60+ hours a week working mom to a stay at home mom virtually overnight.  My kids were thrilled.  My husband was happy he didn’t have to be a single parent every night but that didn’t answer those important questions like how were we going to pay the bills and where were we going to get health insurance and most importantly what was I going to do with the rest of my life.
The answer I have come up with for the moment is that I am going to be the mom that I have always wanted to be and I have been able to to that over the last year as I have been blessed with a part-time job at my kids school where I get to see them everyday.  As much as I love being at their school as a staff member, volunteer, and parent.  I can’t provide everything my family needs on a part time position.  I am praying that I can continue to remain a stay at home mom so I thought of Stampin’ Up as a perfect fit to my new life goals.  I can earn an income while remaining at home with my kids and with the flexiability to be there for those big and small moments in my kids life.           I am excited about this latest adventure in my life as I get to do what I love and share that passion with others as a Stampin’ Up demonstrator.  I am looking forward to meeting new people and making new friends.

Leave a Reply

