Crafting with the Kids

This weekend started with a Saturday morning crafting session at my house.  We had to make birthday invitations for my son’s 4th birthday coming up.  He is a major and I mean major “Cars” fan.  This will be the 2nd year in a row that we are doing a “Cars” themed birthday.  I of course wanted to make my own invitations.  I think it is easier than the store bought one because I can print my own text which I customize to the party and theme on the inside and not have to hand write them.  I had to go outside of Stampin’ Up products to find the “Cars” stamps and punch but I still used their great paper, ink pads and oval cutter.  Micah picked the color of the stamps and the color of the cars and order.  “Lighting” had to be in the lead with “The King” close behind and “Chick Hicks” coming in last.  The Birthday Party stamps are Stampin’ Up’s from their Fundamental Phrases stamp set.  I love this set because it lets me create my own phrases by combining the different phrases.  We made 25 of these invitations in short order with the help of my husband, my mom and sister.   When kids get these invitations to a birthday party they will know that this is not the same party.

This is the invitation we made for my son's 4th Birthday Party. He picked many of the items and colors used.

My daughter also had to get into the paper craftin’ on Saturday as we had to make her Kindergarten teacher a birthday card.  This one we did use all of my Stampin’ Up products.  We used the poppin pastels technique for the flowers.  The border is from the new scallop trim border punch and corner punch from the occasions mini catalog.  We also used the Embosslits Die Beautiful Wings for the big shot to make the butterflies.   We had fun adding the butterflies and I let my daughter design the card and she had fun adding many different elements.  I am sure it will be a treasured memory for her teacher just a making the card will be a treasured memory for me.  I can’t imangine what she will be creating in 5 more years.

The card my daughter designed for her kindergarten teacher.

Leave a Reply

